Explained: Why Bangladesh were denied four runs in 17th over resulting in narrow T20 World Cup defeat to SA

khelobaazi1@gmail.com'

Bangladesh cricket team were on the wrong end in yet another low-scoring thriller in the T20 World Cup on Monday (June 11) evening after they lost by four runs to South Africa. The result which sees Bangladesh’s Super Eight qualification hopes hang in the balance had a controversial point that could have seen the result go either way. An International Cricket Council (ICC) umpiring protocol was the main reason for it which has now put South Africa on the brink of reaching the next stage.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

ALSO READ | ‘Shame on you’: Harbhajan Singh slams Pakistan’s Kamran Akmal for racist joke on Arshdeep Singh

What was the incident?

On the second ball of the 17th over bowled by South Africa’s Ottneil Baartman to Mahmudullah in Bangladesh innings, the batter was adjudged LBW out by the standing umpire. In the meantime, the ball ran away for four while no South African player attempted to stop the ball. Considering the batter was already given out, the next phase of play which was the ball running out for four runs was considered void and the runs were not counted.

Mahmudullah then took a Decision Review System (DRS) and challenged the on-field call. Upon review by the third umpire, it was confirmed that Mahmudullah was not out and was allowed to continue to bat.

However, ICC’s umpiring rules state that as soon as a decision is made during an LBW shout, the next phase is considered void even if a batter is adjudged not out by the third umpire. As a result, despite being given not out for the original appeal, the four runs were not counted due to the loophole in ICC’s rules.

What would have happened if the original decision was not out?

In the above case, since the umpire had given out and made his decision, the next phase was considered void. However, if the original decision was not out, then the umpire would have been obliged to give Bangladesh four leg bye runs and therefore they would have needed fewer runs than originally required. Had South Africa challenged the call and asked for the DRS, the original decision would have been retained in favour of Bangladesh and four runs would have been awarded to Shakib Al Hasan’s side.

Bangladesh later went on to lose the match in the final over by four runs which has now sparked anger amongst their supporters. They are next in action on Thursday against the Netherlands before taking on Nepal in their final group match on Sunday.

You can now write for Baazigarnews.com and be a part of the Baazigar family. Share your stories and opinions with us here.

Leave a Comment